Thursday, September 14, 2006

Why Be Normal? Political Science Student Conference

I would strongly and heartily encourage any of our students to submit a paper to this conference, happening this spring at ISU in Normal, Illinois. If you are interested, come see me and let's talk about what funds we can gather to defray your costs. You may already have a paper from a PG course from last semester, or be working on one this fall. Let's send someone to this and make it a yearly event!

The Fifteenth Annual
Normal, Illinois
March 23, 2007
Draft paper deadline: February 2, 2007
Final Papers due: March 4, 2007

All undergraduate and graduate political science students are invited to submit papers for the fifteenth annual Illinois State University Conference for Students of Political Science. Papers representing all subfields and political perspectives are welcome. Panelists at last years' conference included 60 students attending 24 colleges and universities.

This conference provides a rare opportunity for students of political science to present their work in a public forum and receive feedback on their ideas. All conference participants will be our guests at a catered luncheon with a keynote speaker. The best three undergraduate and graduate student papers will be awarded a cash prize. In addition, exceptional papers will be considered for publication in the Spring 2006 issue of the electronic journal, Critique: an online student journal of politics. Registration for the conference is free.

If you are interested in participating in this event, please follow the link to the online proposal submission form on the conference website:
If you would like to serve as a discussant on a panel, please send a
letter stating your interest and main areas of scholarly knowledge.
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the
conference coordinators:

Dr. Gary Klass and Dr. George Kiser
4600 Department of Politics and Government
Illinois State University
Normal, IL 61790-4600.
(309) 438-7852

This conference is sponsored by the Undergraduate Political Science
Association, the Graduate Student Association, Pi Sigma Alpha, and
the Department of Politics and Government at Illinois State University.